Home > Markets > Food Safety Certifications

Food & Beverage

NQA ISO 22000 A robust and well managed food chain is essential to the health and well-being of all consumers and is fundamental to social and economic stability. This makes food safety a critical issue that must be managed effectively throughout the food chain from farm to fork.

The consequences of food-borne illness can be catastrophic not only for the consumer and health services but also for the retailers and other organizations in the supply chain in terms of cost (through prosecution, product recall or opportunity cost) and reputation (through negative publicity).

In addition to food safety, the global food chain has significant impact on the environment, the health and safety of employees, as well as its own unique operational requirements.

NQA has significant expertise in providing support services to the food sector and is ideally positioned to assist organizations to achieve best practice through the services below.

Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI)

The GFSI is a collaboration between retailers, manufacturers and service providers within the supply chain, and coordinated by The Consumer Goods Forum. By benchmarking standards against each other to a set of criteria, GFSI aims to reduce the duplication of retailers asking for separate, yet nearly identical, audits.

Following a number of food safety related issues, there is no doubt for the need for food safety certification to enhance food safety, ensure consumer protection and to strengthen consumer confidence. The multiplicity of standards available, however, often made the process out of reach for many food suppliers. GFSI sets requirements for food safety schemes through a benchmarking process in order to improve cost efficiency throughout the food supply chain.

What this means for many companies is that a single food safety audit is to be recognized by many multiple different retailers. NQA offers the following:

ISO/FSSC 22000 Food Safety Management Systems (FSMS)

Additional standards:

ISO 9001:2008 Quality Management System Standard (QMS)

ISO 14001 Environmental Management System Standard (EMS)

OHSAS 18001 Occupational Health and Safety management system standard.

Page last updated on 5/12/2014